Organizational Structure

The General Assembly is the highest-ranking body. It elects the President and the members of the Executive Committee, decides on the admission and expulsion of members, and fixes the membership fees.

The Executive Committee is elected for a term of 2 years. It is composed of the President, the first Vice-President, at least three further Vice-Presidents, the Chairman of the Advisory Committee, the Treasurer, the Auditors and at least 20 members as representatives of the border and cross-border regions, taking into account the regional balance. The tasks of the Executive Committee are the passing of basic statements of AEBR, collaboration with European and national institutions, organizations and societies. The appointment of the Secretary General is also one of the responsibilities of the Executive Committee.

The President is the most senior AEBR representative and represents it externally. He has the right to take decisions, in agreement with the Secretary General, who has proxy and is authorized to represent the association.

Working languages of AEBR are German, English and French, and, when needed, Italian, Spanish and other languages of AEBR’s members (e.g. General Assembly and Annual Conference).

AEBR can open fora, form committees and call in representatives from European and political committees, associations or social groups who will be given an advisory vote. A special "Advisory Committee for Cross-border Co-operation" (the "Beirat"), which is composed of scientists and practitioners from all across Europe, has been given the assignment to advise AEBR on all issues of cross-border co-operation. This body can also prepare proposals on how to overcome current problems arising in the field of cross-border cooperation.

The following thematic fora are currently active: